Toews voted “MLA of the Year” by legislature peers

EDMONTON – Finance Minister Travis Toews come on down.

You’ve been voted Alberta’s legislature member (MLA) of the year.

The member for Grande Prairie-Wapiti was the top choice among his political peers in an informal, anonymous vote conducted by Speaker Nathan Cooper.

The most promising newcomer award, essentially rookie of the year, went to Community and Social Services Minister Rajan Sawhney.

The most collegial MLA is UCP backbencher Martin Long.

When it comes to on-the-ground hustle, UCP member Nate Horner was voted the best representative for his constituents.

And NDP deputy whip Janis Irwin was voted best at community outreach.

Cooper says the awards are meant to be fun and build collegiality between the government and the opposition.

“The role is as unique as it is diverse. As elected officials serving in the 30th Legislature the work done in the Chamber, in committees and within the 87 constituencies across Alberta is both challenging and rewarding and, I feel, deserves some recognition,” Cooper said.

(With file from The Canadian Press)